Council for Science and Innovation helps the further development of SZE

Renowned academics, researchers and professionals are the members of the Council for Science and Innovation established by the Board of Trustees of the Széchenyi István University Foundation. The Board aims to strengthen the academic performance of the University.

Today, Széchenyi István University has become the leading knowledge centre in Hungary. The development projects for the creation of a state-of-the-art infrastructure and an excellent teaching and research staff, as well as the introduction of cutting-edge technologies, provide a special opportunity to further enhance the academic performance of the institution. To this end, the Board of Trustees of the Széchenyi István University Foundation, as the administrator, established the Council for Science and Innovation, which recently held its inaugural meeting.

The Council's task is to formulate proposals for strengthening and exploiting the scientific potential of the University and to support the scientific activities of the University. The Council coordinates and defines the scientific work carried out at the University and in other organisations and groups of companies belonging to the Foundation. It also provides opinions and recommendations on innovation, science and research documents of strategic importance, and participates in the university and foundation innovation, research and science ecosystem. The Board of Trustees shall seek the opinion of the Council before taking decisions in this area.


ITT (1).jpegParticipants of the inaugural meeting (Photo: Csaba József Májer)

Many attended the inaugural meeting online (Photo: Csaba József Májer)


The Council is composed of Prof. Dr. Péter Gáspár, full member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (HAS), Head of the Research Laboratory of the Computer Technology and Automation Research Institute (SZTAKI), Prof. Dr. Ervin Balázs, full member of the HAS, Dr. Dávid Becker, Associate Professor of Semmelweis University, Prof. Dr. György Grüner, external member of the HAS, Prof. Dr. Valéria Csépe, full member of the HAS, President of the Hungarian Accreditation Committee, L. László Simon, Director General of the Hungarian National Museum, Prof. Dr. Vanda Lamm, Vice President of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Professor Emeritus of the Deák Ferenc Faculty of Law and Political Sciences of the Széchenyi István University, and Dr. László György, Government Commissioner for Economic Strategy and for the coordination of the "Let's Teach for Hungary" programme. 

"We have recruited individuals with an international reputation for their work and experience in both the management and development of academic institutions. We thank them for their contribution to the academic recognition of Széchenyi István University."– said Prof. László Palkovics, President of the Board of Trustees of the Széchenyi István University Foundation.


The inaugural meeting was attended by the leaders of Széchenyi István University - Dr. Bálint Filep, President, Prof. Dr. Ferenc Friedler, Rector, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Zsolt Kovács, Vice President for General and Educational Affairs, Dr. Eszter Lukács, Vice President for Global Strategy, and Prof. Dr. József Bokor, Vice President for Research and Innovation, who presented the way in which the institution has become a leading knowledge centre in Hungary, with its training and research in Győr, Mosonmagyaróvár, Zalaegerszeg and Budapest. "Our university aims to support the strengthening of the region's competitiveness and the development of society and the economy through its academic performance and innovations. We are delighted that our efforts are now supported by the Council for Science and Innovation, contributing to the increase of our position in the international rankings of higher education institutions."

- said Dr Bálint Filep.

H-9026 Győr, Egyetem tér 1. 


(Administration Building 103.)

0036/96/613-700, 0036/503-419

  am pm
Monday  10:00-12:00 12:30-14:00
Tuesday  10:00-12:00 12:30-14:00
Wednesday  10:00-12:00 12:30-14:00
Thursday  10:00-12:00 12:30-14:00
Friday  10:00-11:00 12:30-14:00